Indiana University Bloomington

Primary Navigation


Involved alumni

Environmental Law Program Advisory Board

The Environmental Law Alumni Advisory Board consists of alumni of Indiana Law who have distinguished themselves in a wide range of fields of environmental law. The board provides the environmental law faculty with their individual and collective perspectives on the development of this field of law, important and emerging legal issues, and career opportunities for current students. The board also provides advice on Indiana Law's educational program in environmental law, and members serve as a resource to law students who wish to pursue a career in environmental law.


  • Prof. John Applegate
    Walter W. Foskett Professor of Law, VP for Planning & Policy
    Indiana University
    Bloomington, Ind.
  • James K. Bemis, JD'85
    Assistant District Counsel
    North Atlantic Division, Baltimore District
    U.S. Army Corp of Engineers
    Baltimore, Md
  • Jack A. Bobo, JD'96
    Sr Advisor for Biotechnology
    US Department of State
  • Timothy M. Conway, JD'85
    Senior Enforcement Counsel
    New England Region
    US Environmental Protection Agency
    Boston, Mass
  • Daniel K. DeWitt, JD'94
    Warner Norcross & Judd LLP
    Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • Daniel J. Deeb, JD'96
    Schiff Hardin LLP
    Chicago, Ill.
  • Peter H. Dykstra, JD'97
    Plauche & Carr LLP
    Seattle, Wash.
  • Prof. Robert L. Fischman
    Prof. of Law, Adjunct Prof. Public & Environmental Affairs
    Indiana University Maurer School of Law
    Bloomington, Ind.
  • Gerald F. George, JD'69
    Davis Wright Tremaine
    San Francisco, Calif
  • E. Lynn Grayson, JD'86
    Law Partner
    Jenner & Block
    Chicago, Ill.
  • John M. Hamilton, JD'86
  • Nina R. Hatfield, JD'73
  • Jeffrey B. Hyman, JD'03
    Conservation Law Center
    Indiana University
    Bloomington, Ind.
  • Kelly A. Johnson, JD'90
    International Finance Corp
  • Melina (Maniatis) Kennedy, JD'95
    Director, Executive Communications
    Cummins Inc
    Indianapolis, Ind.
  • Cynthia A. King, JD'91
    Region III
    U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
    Chicago, Ill.
  • John M. Kyle, III, JD'79
    Barnes & Thornburg LLP
    Indianapolis, Ind.
  • David J. Lazerwitz, JD'95
    Farella Braun & Martel LLP
    San Francisco, Calif
  • Laurence A. McHugh, JD'73
    Law Partner
    Barnes & Thornburg LLP
    South Bend, Ind.
  • Andrea (Isaacs) Need, JD'93
    Lecturer and Deputy Director
    Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs
    Bloomington, Ind.
  • Andrew D. Otis, JD'90
    Curtis Mallet-Prevost Colt & Mosle LLP
    New York, N.Y.
  • Jeffrey P. Petrich, JD'84
    Washington Council Ernst & Young
  • Peter M. Racher, JD'86
    Law Partner
    Plews Shadley Racher & Braun
    Indianapolis, Ind.
  • John E. Seddelmeyer, JD'74
    General Counsel Legal Services
    Exxon Corporation
    Irving, TX
  • Jacqueline A. Simmons, JD'79
    Vice-President & General Counsel
    IUB VP and General Counsel
    Bloomington, Ind.
  • Myra (Podvoll) Spicker, JD'73
    Assistant Regional Solicitor, Pacific Southwest Region
    Office of the Solicitor
    US Department of the Interior
    Sacramento, Calif
  • Carolyn Waldron
    Director, Environmental Law Program
    Indiana University Maurer School of Law
    Bloomington, Ind.
  • W. William Weeks, JD'79
    Adjunct Professor of Law
    Indiana University Maurer School of Law
    Bloomington, Ind.

28 members.